fbpx CHC Celebrates Student Leadership Awards Virtually | Chestnut Hill College Skip to content Skip to navigation

CHC Celebrates Student Leadership Awards Virtually

CHC Celebrates Student Leadership Awards Virtually

A screenshot from the virtual ceremony. Last week Chestnut Hill College held a virtual ceremony for the 2020 Student Leadership Awards, honoring students for their contributions to life outside the classroom.

The ceremony, held on May 7, recognized students and faculty for outstanding leadership, commitment to service, living out the mission, involvement on campus, and more. This year’s awards were presented online in the face of COVID-19 and social distancing guidelines.

Speaking to students virtually, Emily Schademan, M.S., the director of student activities, said that while “there is a lot to miss about not gathering together, I can’t help but focus on the things we do have to celebrate.”

“I know that many of you find yourselves engaged in a new balancing act,” Schademan said. “Some of you may be newfound caregivers and teachers for younger siblings, others may be working essential jobs, and still others may be volunteering or fundraising to support the new challenges our world today presents. Your resilience and grace in handling these challenging times is humbling.”

The recipients of the 2020 Student Leadership Awards are:

First Year Involvement Award - Nashelit Ochoa

Commuter of the Year Award - Kemar Marshall

Golden Griffin Award - Stephen Hogan

Living the Mission Award - Kira Altomari

Director’s Award - Kelly Liberona for Library Initiatives

Program of the Year Award - Mask & Foil’s Production of “Clue on Stage”

Outstanding Student Organization of the Year - La Voz Latina

Advisor of the Year Award - Ann Liberona (advisor of La Voz Latina & Global Students Association)

Outstanding Student Leader of the Year - Kianni Figuereo

President’s Leadership Award (presented to five graduating seniors):

- Jennifer Miller

- Stephanie Brogna

- Samantha Covais

- Christopher Bunn

- Haley Norwillo

Watch the full ceremony below!

Posted In: Features