Skip to content Skip to navigation


Thank you for making this year’s Scholarship Gala our best one yet!

To see photos from the 2017 Gala, click here

The gala may be over but you can still make a difference by donating to student scholarships.


Chestnut Hill College is proud to honor James P. Gallagher, Ph.D. at our Eighth Annual Scholarship Gala for his dedication to education and providing scholarship to students throughout his career and now with sponsoring a student at Chestnut Hill College.

Jim is widely known nationally and regionally for his educational administration and leadership. Among his many notable accomplishments, he served as President of Philadelphia University for 23 years. During his tenure, he successfully guided the school through a major transformation from Philadelphia College of Textiles and Science to Philadelphia University.

Jim is a widely respected leader, having served as a critical member of numerous civic and educational organizations, including the Greater Philadelphia Chamber of Commerce and the Association of Independent College and University Presidents of Pennsylvania (AICUP). Since 2007, he has served as a member of the Connelly Foundation Board of Directors. With continued dedication to higher education he served as Interim President of Arcadia University in 2011 and then in June 2014 he served as Interim President of LaSalle University.

For his deep appreciation of academia, love for Chestnut Hill College and respect for the unequivocal right to an education, we honor James P. Gallagher, Ph.D.

Thank you to our 2017 Sponsors

There was an outpouring of support for the gala last year. The College thanks each and every one of those who sponsored the event and helped raise money for scholarship funds in 2017.



Adventure Aquarium
Barnes and Noble
Theresa Bielski
Charles Blachford
Kate Brown: WaXpress & Facial Studio
Jenny Rose Carey
Dr. Dawn Cute: Optimum Health Chiropractic
Theresa Cute
Nancy Dachille ’01 SGS
Cecelia Englebert-Passanza ’77
Marion Forsythe ’05
Linda Lowe
Mica Restaurant (Chestnut Hill)
Margarita Mongil-Kwoka ’80
Carolyn Sagendorph Montgomery ’97
Eva Mauchly Moos ’84
Margaret Moran ’67
Cathy Lockyer Moulton ’92
Kimberly Yost Moyer
Musselman Jewelers (Bethlehem)
Panera Bread
Joe Perno
Kathy McKenna Pestich ’92
Pam Phelan
Philadelphia 76ers
Philadelphia Phillies
Christina Roach ’15
The Rose Group: Applebees
Regina Maxwell Schwille ’65
SLP Fitness
SL8 Hair Lounge
JoMarie Victor ’04 SCPS
Fran Vorsky ’05, ’07 SGS
Maryanne Walsh ’98, ’02 SGS
Sara English Walton ’05, ’08 SGS and Tim Walton


Thank you to our 2017 Donors

James & Patricia May Agger ’63
David & Rosalie Marinari Akouka, M.D. ’68
Maureen Allu
Mary Augustine ’79, ’85 SGS
Ann Claffey Baiada
Pamela and Joe Balkovec
Thomas P. Blomer
Stuart Borowsky
Mary E. Brandt, Ph.D. ’76
David Brookstein, ScD & Ellen Brookstein
Chris & Sara Gallagher Campbell
Andre Canales
Chartwells College & University Dining Services, Inc.
Claire Reichlin and Dr. D. Walter Cohen
Robert Cohen & Deborah Peikes
Susannah Coleman
Marie Conn, Ph.D.
Connelly Foundation
Cecily Craig ’77 and Peter Drewniany
Patrick Curtin ’11
Mary Donohue
Molly Walsh Donovan, Ph.D. ’68
Jack and Alice Dowling
Michael F. Dunleavy & Nancy A. Dunleavy
Stephen & Roseanne O’Hanlon Duzinski ’71
Thomas & Cecelia Englebert-Passanza ’77
Sara English-Walton ’05, ’08 SGS
J. Michael Fitzpatrick, Ph.D. and Jean Fitzpatrick
Kathleen Heidere Ford ’63
William & Florence Ford
Marion Forsythe ’05
Brian Gallagher & Jami Barnett
Jim & Helen Gallagher
Paul & Kathryn Gallagher
Randall & Trudy Gentzler
Irving Gerber
Robert & Theresa Germon
Richard & Lynn Cozza Goodman ’63
Elaine Green, Ed.D.
Jack Gulati & Rosemary Murphy Gulati ’61
Robert & Isabelle Walsh Gundaker ’65
A. Carl & Catherine O’Donoghue Helwig ’63
Sonia Gotay Hernandez ’58
Vincent Zarro, M.D. & Barbara Hogan-Zarro, Ph.D. ’73 SCPS
IBEW Local Union 98
Lois Janney & Bill Rose
Joan McFadden Jernée ’67
Benita Johnson ’07 SCPS
Theresa & Peter Kaufman, J.D.
John Keleher
Sean Killion, Ed.D., MBA
Joseph Kulkosky, Ph.D.
La Salle University
Barbara Forrester Landis ’07 SGS
Joan Gerard Larkin ’52
Robert & Carol Lockyer
Thomas Lynch, RADM, USN (ret)
Donald & Joanne McFadden McBride ’63
Kate McCorkle
Denise Sheehan McGookin ’49
Austin & Margaret Bennett McGreal ’60
Barbara McGurn ’55
James & Maureen Fisher McLaughlin
Barbara A. Miller
Margarita Mongil-Kwoka ’80
David & Carolyn Sagendorph Montgomery ’97
Margaret C. Moran ’67
Andrew Morrisroe
Tilghman Moyer & Kimberly Yost Moyer
Cathy Lockyer Moulton ’92
Beatrice Murday
Philip Murray
Jeff Niessen & Elizabeth A. Schlosser ’84
Brian Ortale, J.D. & Lynn Ortale, Ph.D.
C. Lowell Parsons, M.D. & JoEllen Noonan Parsons ’66
Judith Perkins ’70
Patricia Harper Petrozza, M.D. ’74
Thomas & Linda Pheasant
John & Barbara Pierantozzi
James & Margaret Jackson Quinn ’64
Kenneth & Janet Brown Quintal ’70
Joseph & Katherine Safford Ramus, Ed.D. ’69
Robert Riethmiller, Jr. & Anne Riethmiller
Jeffrey F. Niessen & Elizabeth A. Schlosser ’84
Jean Schwartz, M.D. ’55
Regina Maxwell Schwille ’65
David & Jodie King Smith ’94, ’01 SGS
Lee and Christian Soltysiak
James Stewart ’09 and Kathryn Williams Stewart ’09
George & Susan Stow
Marianne Taulane ’50
The Haverford Trust Company
Thomas Wynne
Mary Kay Tucker
Jo Marie Victor ’04 SCPS
Frances Vorsky ’05, ’07 SGS
Maryanne L. Walsh ’98, ’02 SGS
Timothy Walton & Sara English-Walton ’05, ’08 SGS
Rashida Weathers ’95
Woodrow Wendling, M.D., Ph.D. & Susan Wendling
Fred & Teri Meniketti Wiedeman-Rouse ’05 SGS
Dr. Bridget L. Willoughby and Mr. Robert P. Willoughby
Robert & Bridget Mahon Willoughby, Ph.D. ’97
Tilghman and Kimberly Yost Moyer
Leslie Zemnick ’11
Ronald Zemnick & Carol Voelmle Zemnick ’75